Team Bahrain McLaren

Passion Meets Technology


Following the success of the Lampre-Merida team, Merida jointly founded the Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team in 2017.

For the 2020 season, we will be supporting Team Bahrain McLaren as bike supplier and technical partner, allowing us to focus on our area of expertise; providing the team with the best possible equipment.

Over a 3 year period, the Bahrain Merida team achieved 199 podium placements - 53 of which were in first position. We're immensely proud of this achievement but we hope to better it with the new team in place.

There are some exciting new additions to the roster, Mark Cavendish is of particular interest to us in the UK.

The new team will have access to 3 different Merida bikes; riders will choose our Scultura or Reacto for stages and single day events or our Warp TT bike for individual and team time trials.

The 2020 Team Bahrain McLaren roster includes Mark Cavendish (GB), Stephen Williams (GB), Alfred Wright (GB), Yukiya Arashiro (JPN), Phil Bauhaus (GER), Pello Bilbao (ESP), Grega Bole (SLO), Santiago Buitrago (COL), Eros Capecchi (ITA), Damiano Caruso (ITA), Sonny Colbrelli (ITA), Feng Chun-Kai (TWN), Scott Davies (GBR), Ivan Garcia (ESP), Marco Haller (AUT), Heinrich Haussler (AUS), Kevin Inkelaar (NED), Mikel Landa (ESP), Matej Mohoric (SLO), Domen Novak (SLO), Mark Padun (UKR), Hermann Pernsteiner (AUT), Luka Pibernik (SLO), Wout Poels (NED), Marcel Sieberg (GER), Dylan Teuns (BEL), Jan Tratnik (SLO) and Rafael Valls (ESP).

Team Bahrain McLaren - Technology Meets Heritage

The distinctive design for the Team Bahrain McLaren bikes and kit helps riders stand out from the crowd.  McLaren's famous papaya-orange appears alongside bright blue and red, representing  the national colours of the kingdom of Bahrain.

Team Bahrain McLaren will race on disc bikes throughout the 2020 season with the exception of time trials. We've managed to achieve a significant weight reduction on our Scultura Disc team bike - it now meets the 6.8kg weight limit specified by the UCI. 

The latest generation of power-meters - the Shimano DuraAce 9100 series - provides riders with detailed information about their performance.  Shimano also provide their 9150 DuraAce Di2 series including electronic actuated shifting and hydraulic disc brakes.

Wheels are Vision’s superb Metron SL Disc series with improved rim shape and carbon structure. The Metron SL 40 Disc tubular wheels are the ultimate all-rounder. Sprinters and breakaway racers will focus on the Metron SL 55 Disc with a deeper rim profile.  All wheels used by the team are hand-built and trued at Italy, they spin on low resistance ceramic bearings.

Team BAHRAIN McLAREN uses Continental Competition Pro ALX LTD 25 mm handmade tubular tyres, renowned for ultimate grip, super fast rolling and high puncture resistance. In special conditions, such as racing on cobbles,  tubeless systems will be tested.

FSA and Vision supply the cockpits and seat-posts.  Most of the team have selected the one-piece Vision Metron stem/handlebar combo, offering superior aerodynamic performance and improved  stiffness during sprints. The climbers have chosen FSA K-Force cockpits for their incredible lightweight and stiffness. Vision also supply the 1-piece Metron TT cockpits with extensions for the team leaders. 

Saddles are supplied by Prologo – they're equipped with carbon rails and carbon shells and, again, riders have a choice. Weight is key, as ever, the compact Scratch M5 saddle weighs only 140 grams.